The Flanagan Wind Orchestra, under the Direction of Michael A. Gabriel is one of the most critically acclaimed ensembles in the state of Florida.  The Flanagan Wind Orchestra has consistently received Superior Ratings at District and State Florida Bandmasters Association Music Performance Assessments, and has received praise for exceptionally moving performances of advanced contemporary music.

The ensemble has performed in some of the most high profile venues in the nation, including: a performance tour in Washington, D.C; a feature performance for the Florida Music Education Association Professional Development Conference; two national championships at the National Adjudicator’s Invitational, including the presentation of an Honor Award for exceptional achievement at the Grand Invitational; and most recently, a National Championship at the Walt Disney World Festival in which the Flanagan Wind Orchestra earned the highest score in the history of the competition.

The Flanagan Wind Orchestra has been a formidable force in promoting new works for bands and wind ensembles. The ensemble has been involved with premieres of works by major composers including David Maslanka, Scott McAllister, Donald Grantham, Ryan George, Brian Hanson, Zachary Bush, Carl Holmquist, and Jose Ignacio Blesa Lull. The ensemble has also hosted residencies with composers David Maslanka, James Woodward, John Mackey, and Frank Ticheli.

Concert Programs:

Fall Concert 2019:

High School Cadets March--John Phillip Sousa

Separate Peace--Brian Hanson

Elegy for a Young American--Ronald LoPresti

Ride--Samuel Hazo

Winter Concert 2019:

Three Memories--Zachary Bush** World Premeire

O Magnum Mysterium--Morten Lauridsen/H. Robert Reynolds

Watchman, Tell Us of the Night--Mark Camphouse

Sleigh Ride--Leroy Anderson

District Concert MPA 2020:

The Honored Dead March--John Phillip Sousa

Mare Tranquillitatis--Roger Zare

The Frozen Cathedral--John Mackey

Spring Concert 2020 (Cancelled due to Coronavirus):

First Suite in Eb--Gustav Holst

Rhosymedre--Ralph Vaughan Williams/Walter Beeler

Candide Suite--Leonard Bernstein/Clare Grundman



For general information about the Flanagan Falcon Sound program please contact us at:


Charles W. Flanagan High School

12800 Taft Street

Pembroke Pines, Fl 33028

754.323.0650  Main Office

754.323.0704  Band Office


Falcon Sound Alliance ~ Booster Club
2114 North Flamingo Road

Pembroke Pines, FL 33028




The Flanagan Falcon Sound program is an organization of dedicated Students, Parents, Staff, and Directors who strive to achieve the highest level of artistry through performance. This extraordinary group of young performers come from Flanagan High School's Marching Band, Color Guard, Wind Orchestra, Symphonic Winds, Concert Jazz Band, World Guard, "A" Guard, "JV" Guard, Percussion Class, String Orchestra, and the Flanagan Winds. These individual groups combine to form a "Family" known as the "The Falcon Sound!""